It wasn’t until I met you

it wasn’t until I met you
that blonde hair got a new meaning
that golden river had me
thinking of a new beginning

I surely needed one,
a new picture, different landscape
maybe it’s not falling,
but the want of an escape

yet what was I to tell you,
how was I to speak,
I was scared,
I was weak

and you loved him like a martyr
loved him like a saint,
a sketchy character
with a heart that’s faint

I always longed for the man
with a capacity to love the way I do
I didn’t know my golden river
that I would find that love in you

blonde woman

 

Leave a Reply

